top of page

Names of Yama – the God of Death

Naran S Balakumar “DHARMARAAJAM NAMAMYAHAM, SAMANAM NAMAMYAHAM, KRIDHANTHAM NAMAMYAHAM, DHANDA-DHARAM NAMAMYAHAM, KAALAM NAMAMYAHAM, YAMAM NAMAMYAHAM, PUNYAMITRAM NAMAMYAHAM, EESAM NAMAMYAHAM” These eight mantras are given by Savitri. After she met Yama Dharmaraja – the god of death and darkness, she was revealed the high, true knowledge of divine. At that time, she chanted eight Slokas, praising the god of death in eight different ways. Savitri says that those who chant this will never have any fear of death.

What is the healing aspect of this mantra? Kaalam – time, you cannot win over it nor can you escape from it. You have to wait for the time. You have to prostrate to the time to transcend it. Each of these eight mantras can be used in an energy circle for various life situations. Please read the next article in this series to the meaning of this mantra:


Recent Posts

See All

Vim Vishnave Namaha I used to be obsessed by my relative and it was draining me mentally and physically. I also have habit of obsessive thinking about everything. It used to make me tired and I was no

And the glory of Lord Hanuman… Naran S Balakumar Learn to see the inside beauty of a person Hanuman is a great soul even though he is born as a monkey. He is a great exponent of words. When you look

Naran S Balakumar How? Chant the mantra “RAMAM MANOHARAM MANOHARAM RAMAM” This mantra will bring out the mother’s love in you - Manoharam. You will also get into a mind-less state. Two different qu

bottom of page